## Tuesday, 21 Onerahtókha/April 2020

PLEASE NOTE THAT (WITH THE EXCEPTION OF COVID-19 TASK FORCE MEETINGS BEING HELD ON MONDAY, WEDNESDAY AND FRIDAY) ALL CURRENT MEETINGS ARE BEING CONDUCTED VIA TELECONFERENCE

<u>In</u>: Ratitsénhaienhs Tonya Perron (Chairperson), Cody Diabo, Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer, Gina Deer, Frankie McComber, Clinton Phillips, Rhonda Kirby, Mike Delisle, Jr., Harry Rice, Ross Montour, Lindsay LeBorgne and Joe Norton (All Present)

<u>Also Present</u>: Trina Diabo-Jacobs (Council Meeting Administrator), Winona Polson-Lahache (Chief Political Advisor) and Joe Delaronde (Public Relations)

### House Keeping

Not applicable

#### Formal Agenda Items

#### **Decree to Declare State of Emergency**

Presence of Mary Lee Armstrong (Director of Legal Services), Suzanne Jackson (Legal Counsel), Lloyd Phillips (Commissioner of Public Safety), Kevin Kennedy (acting as Executive Director for the purposes of the Kahnawà:ke Emergency Preparedness Law), and Kevin Fleischer (Commissioner of Justice). Commissioner of Public Safety Lloyd Phillips advised that a Decree to Declare State of Emergency should be passed as the next step under the Kahnawà:ke Emergency Preparedness Law. The declaration of the state of emergency is to provide the COVID-19 Task Force with the necessary tools to mitigate the impacts of COVID-19 on the community, and to ensure the protection of the health and safety of the community of Kahnawà:ke. Pursuant to the law, Grand Chief Joseph Tokwiro Norton, Kevin Kennedy (acting as the Executive Director for the purposes of the Kahnawà:ke Emergency Preparedness Law) and Kevin Fleischer (Commissioner of Justice) formally and unanimously decreed the Declaration of the State of Emergency.

Passed by consensus.

## Mohawk Council Resolution: Confirmation of State of Emergency

Presence of Mary Lee Armstrong (Director of Legal Services), Suzanne Jackson (Legal Counsel), Lloyd Phillips (Commissioner of Public Safety), Kevin Kennedy (acting as Executive Director for the purposes of the Kahnawà:ke Emergency Preparedness Law), and Kevin Fleischer (Commissioner of Justice). In accordance with the Kahnawà:ke Emergency Preparedness Law, the Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke ratified the Declaration of the State of Emergency through Mohawk Council Resolution ("MCR"). The MCR confirmed both the State of Emergency and the authority of the COVID-19 Task Force to take the necessary precautions under the Kahnawà:ke Emergency Preparedness Law to mitigate the impacts of the virus on the community. The State of Emergency is declared in effect for a period of thirty (30) days and is subject to extension, if necessary.

Passed by consensus (See press release dated April 21, 2020 for details).

# Mohawk Council Executive Directive: Commissioner of Public Safety Authorization

Presence of Mary Lee Armstrong (Director of Legal Services), Suzanne Jackson (Legal Counsel), Lloyd Phillips (Commissioner of Public Safety), Kevin Kennedy (acting as Executive Director for the purposes of the Kahnawà:ke Emergency Preparedness Law) and Kevin Fleischer (Commissioner of Justice). Directive authorizing the Commissioner of Public Safety to make emergency payments for the purpose of the day-to-day operations as they relate to the COVID-19 Task Force pursuant to the MCR Confirming a State of Emergency. Passed by Consensus.

# OF KUNNING

## Mohawk Council Communiqué

## **Other Mohawk Council Executive Directives**

Not applicable

## **Chief & Council Updates**

- Not applicable
- Meeting started at 1:05pm and ended at 1:40pm