

Mohawk Council Communiqué

Monday, 15 Ohiarí:ha/June, 2009

The following is a synopsis of the latest Council Meeting

Chiefs Attendance

In – Chiefs Mike Delisle Jr., Mike Bush, Martin Leborgne, Marvin Zacharie, Johnny Montour, Kenneth McComber, John Dee Delormier, Peggy Mayo-Standup.

Also present: Alana Goodleaf-Rice – Executive Director, Mike O'Brien – OCC Chief of Staff.

Out – Chiefs Peter Paul (vacation), Rhonda Kirby (vacation), Warren Lahache (personal).

Housekeeping:

- An update was given on Grand Chief's visit to Quebec City to meet with Premier Jean Charest.
- An update was given on the recent trip to Akwesasne on June 12 to show support in the Border Guard issue.
- An update was given on the Mercier Bridge works.
- An update was given on the status of the potential Clay Mountain Removal project. The private company involved wishes to research the materials to be removed before proceeding with a plan.

The following agenda items were discussed:

Tewatohnhi'saktha Potential Lease Agreement

Council's support was required in a land lease agreement with Rogers Cable, who will be leasing from Tewatohnhi'saktha in order to install a Cell Tower at the land where Mohawk Internet Technologies Phase 3 is located. The MCK supported the initiative. *Presence of Bud Morris, Amy Rice, Kyle Delisle and Lanny Jacobs.*

Aboriginal Initiatives Fund (AIF)

Tewatohnhi'saktha representatives gave an update on the progress of the AIF and how to access the Community Infrastructure portion. A Mohawk Council Executive Directive (MCED) was required to approve submitted projects for official submission to access the Fund. The MCED was approved. *Presence of Bud Morris, Amy Rice, Kyle Delisle, Tom Morris and David Lahache.*

Kahnawake Treasury Project

An update presentation was given by Tewatohnhi'saktha on the results of Phase One of a research project, which is looking into the potential creation of a Community Treasury. A decision to move ahead with Phase Two of the research was made by Chief and Council. *Presence of Kyle Delisle, Amy Rice, Sam Montour, Bud Morris, Jean Pommainville and Ken Bourque*.

Meeting concluded at 11:25 am.