Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò: kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Chiefs in Ottawa to Attend Iroquois Caucus

(Kahnawà:ke – 27, Tsothohrkó:wa/January 2009) Chiefs Mike Bush, Martin Leborgne and Johnny Montour are traveling to Ottawa to participate in a gathering of the Iroquois Caucus.

The meetings are scheduled for tomorrow and Thursday, 28-29 Tsothohrkó:wa/January.

The agenda will include discussions on Education, Taxation, INAC Status Cards, the proposed *Matrimonial Real Property Law*, and Specific Claims. Meetings with Inuit Liberal Senator Charlie Watt and AFN National Chief Phil Fontaine are also planned.

The Iroquois Caucus consists of the elected councils of several Iroquoian communities, including Akwesasne, Tyendinaga, Six Nations, Kanesatake, Oneida of the Thames, Wahta and Kahnawà:ke.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500 joe.delaronde@mck.ca