Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Peacekeepers Ethics Committee appointments

(Kahnawake – 27, Tsothohrkó:wa/January 2011) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) wishes to inform the community that five Kahnawa'kehronon have been appointed as members of the Peacekeepers Ethics Comittee.

Richard T. Nolan, Carolyn Dale Jacobs, Trina C. Diabo, Audra Rice and Hazel Mayo were formally appointed to four year terms on Monday, 24 Tsothohrkó:wa/ January, though the announcement was delayed to ensure all candidates received notification of the decision.

The Peacekeepers Ethics Commission was instituted to consider complaints made against one or more members of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers and to make recommendations to the Peacekeeper Services Board for the modification or operational practices that will allow the Peacekeepers to fulfill their mandate more efficiently, effectively and in accordance with the needs and expectations of the community.

The appointments are effective immediately.

-30-

For information about this release, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500, ext. 2251, joe.delaronde@mck.ca