

NEWS RELEASE

Unofficial Nominees List for MCK By-Election

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 9, Enníska/February 2019) Nominations for Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) Council Chief were collected by Electoral Officer Angus L. Montour at the MCK Client Based Services Office on Saturday, February 9, 2019 between 10am and 12 noon.

The <u>Unofficial</u> Nomination List was distributed shortly after 12pm by the Electoral Officer. Six (6) community members were nominated for the one position open for Council Chief.

All Nominees on the <u>Unofficial</u> List will be vetted through a vigorous background check conducted by the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, the Court of Kahnawa:ke and the Membership Department.

For all Nominees, the deadline to Declare or Decline their Nomination is Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 12 noon.

It is noted that this list is <u>UNOFFICIAL</u> until all Nominees have dutifully accepted or declined their nominations and have been deemed by the Electoral Officer to have met all eligibility critiera as per the Kahnawà:ke Election Law. The Official Candidate List will be released on Wednesday, February 13, 2019.

The following <u>UNOFFICIAL</u> list of the nominees for the MCK By-Election can also be found online at <u>www.kahnawakeelections.com</u>:

NOMINEES FOR THE POSITION OF COUNCIL CHIEF (in alphabetical order):

	NAME	NOMINATED BY:	SECONDED BY:
1.	Cody DIABO	Nathan White	Rebecca Kirstie Diabo
2.	David A DIABO	Linda K Diabo	Rakwirenhtha Frank Diabo
3.	Frankie MCCOMBER	Charles Barnett	Donna Delaronde
4.	Malcolm O'BRIEN	Wanda Phillips	Dave K. Regis
5.	Tonia WILLIAMS	Franklin Williams	Tracey Snow
6.	Christine ZACHARY DEOM	Brian Goodleaf	Dean Montour

-30-

For further information, please contact: Angus L. Montour, Electoral Officer Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke By-Election Cellular: 514-442-9114 Email: <u>angus.montour@kahnawakeelections.com</u>