

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958 Web Site: <u>www.Kahnawake.com</u> E-mail: <u>communications@mck.ca</u> Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Peacekeeper Ethics Committee appointments announced

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 10, Enníska/February 2015) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke announced today that five community members have been formally appointed to the Peacekeeper Ethics Committee for the 2015-2019 service term.

The appointees are: Molly Sky, Leanda Johnson, Brian Goodleaf, David Rice and Cheryl Lahache. Ms. Sky will begin a second consecutive term. The others will replace four members (Dale Jacobs, Trina C. Diabo, Hazel Mayo and Richard T. Nolan) whose terms have expired.

The appointments were unanimously approved by Chief & Council at the February 9, 2015 Council Meeting.

The Peacekeeper Ethics Committee is the independent body entrusted with reviewing decisions made by the Chief Peacekeeper with respect to complaints made by community members against the conduct of Peacekeepers.

-30-

For information about this release, please contact: Gene Diabo, Communications Officer – Operations Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450 632 7500 ext. 2254, <u>gene.diabo@mck.ca</u>