

## Call for Applicants for 11<sup>th</sup> annual Jesse Deer Memorial Media Scholarship Fund

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 22, Enníska/ February 2021) Kahnawà:ke's local media are pleased to announce the Call for Applications for the 2021 Jesse Deer Memorial Media Scholarship Fund for \$1000.

The bursary is for the 2021 Fall Semester and will be awarded to one successful postsecondary student who is pursuing **media-related studies**. Candidates should exemplify Jesse's values by demonstrating a sound work ethic, good grades, great motivation, and community involvement.

"Even if it has been over a decade since our friend Jesse passed away, we will never forget him and his impact on the Kahnawake mediascape," said Steve Bonspiel, editor/publisher of the Eastern Door and Co-chair of the scholarship. "He will always be remembered through this scholarship in his name, and we are hoping a new generation gets to hear and learn about his impact as more and more students get to the university level from Kahnawake."

"It's important for us to help promote the need for our community members to pursue an education in media-related fields," said Greg Horn of Iorí:wase and Co-Chair of the scholarship. "It is more and more important to be able to tell our own stories."

Applicants are asked to produce a two (2) minute video or write a 500-word essay explaining their reasons for applying, and submit it along with an up-to-date transcript and letter of reference by email to <u>idmmsfund@gmail.com</u> or by mail to:

Jesse Deer Memorial Media Scholarship Post Office Box 1616 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory, JOL 1B0

The deadline to apply is Friday, March 26, 2021, at 11:59pm.

<u>K1037 Radio</u>, <u>The Eastern Door, KTV</u>, <u>Iorí:wase</u>, and <u>First Nations TV</u> created the Fund to pay tribute to media personality and community enthusiast Jesse Deer, who passed away on November 24, 2009, at the age of 23.

-30-

For further information, please contact any of the Board Members: Steve Bonspiel, Co-Chairperson (Eastern Door), 450-635-3050 Greg Horn, Co-Chairperson (Iorí:wase), <u>gregh@kahnawakenews.com</u>, 450-635-6002 Regan Jacobs, Secretary (First Nations TV), 514-880-9449 Gene Diabo, Treasurer (o/b/o KTV), 450-632-7500 ext. 63254 Joe Delaronde, Board Member (o/b/o K1037), 450-632-7500 ext. 63251