

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Nominees Announced for Electoral Officer

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 7, Onerahtókha/April 2009) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke is pleased to announce that three (3) candidates were nominated for Electoral Officer of the 2009 MCK Elections.

The following candidates have officially accepted their nominations and have met all eligibility criteria set out in the *Kahnawà:ke Elections Law* and have passed the security check:

- 1. Lindsay Leborgne (Nominated by Frank Phillips, Seconded by Tom Scott)
- **2. Angus L. Montour** (Nominated by Ann Penny Leclaire, Seconded by Marsha D'Ailleboust.)
- 3. Timmy Norton (Nominated by Shari Norton, Seconded by Jamie Norton.)

An election for the position will be held at a special Community Meeting scheduled for Saturday, 18 Onerahtókha/April 2009 from 9:00am to 12:00pm at the Golden Age Club.

Voters must be at least eighteen (18) years of age on Election Day, meet requirements of the *Kahnawà:ke Membership Law* and be listed on the Kahnawà:ke Kanien'kehaka Registry.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Samantha Montour-Cross, Executive Assistant Office of the Council of Chiefs Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500 ext 360

Justus Polson-Lahache Communications Unit Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500 ext 267