

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958 Web Site: <u>www.Kahnawake.com</u> E-mail: <u>communications@mck.ca</u> Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Nominees Announced for Electoral Officer for the 2015 MCK Elections

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 7, Onerahtókha/April 2015) The Executive Director's Office of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke is pleased to announce that three (3) candidates have been nominated for Electoral Officer of the 2015 MCK Elections. The following candidates have officially accepted their nominations and have met all eligibility requirements set out in the *Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Election Law*:

- 1. Darlene Alfred (Nominated by Patricia Stacey and seconded by Caroline Charles)
- **2. Dwayne Kirby** (Nominated by Melanie Gilbert and seconded by Arlene Jacobs)
- **3. Timothy (Timmy) Norton** (Nominated by Daryl Leclaire and seconded by Hunter Lazare)

An election for the position will be held at a special Community Meeting scheduled for Saturday, 25 Onerahtókha/April 2015 at the Golden Age Club between the hours of 10am and 12pm. The nominee with the most votes will be appointed Electoral Officer for the 2015 MCK Elections.

Voters must be at least eighteen (18) years of age on Election Day and be listed as a member on the Kahnawà:ke Kanien'kehá:ka Registry.

If there are any questions regarding the nominations process please contact Lana Snow, Administrative Assistant of the Executive Office at 450-632-7500 ext 2284.

-30-

For information about this release, please contact: Justus Polson-Lahache, MCK Communications Officer Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500, ext. 2267