

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958 Web Site: <u>www.Kahnawake.com</u> E-mail: <u>communications@mck.ca</u> Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi letsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

## Electoral Officer Elections this Saturday, April 25<sup>th</sup>

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 21, Onerahtókha/April 2015) The Executive Director's Office of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke would like remind the community that an election for the position of Electoral Officer (EO) for the 2015 MCK Elections will be held at a special Community Meeting scheduled for Saturday, 25 Onerahtókha/April 2015 at the Golden Age Club between the hours of 10am and 12pm. The candidate with the most votes will be appointed EO for the 2015 MCK Elections.

Voters must be at least eighteen (18) years of age on Election Day and be listed as a member on the *Kahnawà:ke Kanien'kehá:ka Registry*.

In the event of a tie a recount of the votes will be held. If there remains a tie the Chair of the meeting will announce that a run-off vote will take place between the tied candidates. The run-off vote, if necessary, will be held that same day at the Golden Age Club between the hours of 1pm and 2pm.

The three (3) candidates that have been nominated for EO of the 2015 MCK Elections are:

- 1. Darlene Alfred (Nominated by Patricia Stacey and seconded by Caroline Charles)
- **2. Dwayne Kirby** (Nominated by Melanie Gilbert and seconded by Arlene Jacobs)
- **3. Timothy (Timmy) Norton** (Nominated by Daryl Leclaire and seconded by Hunter Lazare)

If there are any questions regarding the nominations process please contact Lana Snow, Administrative Assistant of the Executive Office at 450-632-7500 ext 2284.

-30-

For information about this release, please contact: Sondra Cross, MCK Communications Officer Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500, ext. 2267

EDO-COMM-0001