

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Chiefs to attend Iroquois Caucus

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 6, Onerahtohkó:wa/May 2009) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke wishes to inform the community that Chiefs Mike Bush, Martin Leborgne and Kenneth McComber will be in Ottawa from Wednesday to Friday, 6-8 Onerahtohkó:wa/May to attend the Iroquois Caucus meetings.

Agenda items include Border Crossing/ID issues (including the recent letter from INAC/Ray Hatfield regarding the secure Certificate of Indian Status); an update on the proposed Matrimonial Real Property law; Education; and the developing relationship between the Caucus and Amnesty International.

The Chiefs are expected to return to the office on Monday, 11 Onerahtohkó:wa/May.

The Iroquois Caucus consists of elected Councils from several Iroquoian communities, including Kahnawà:ke, Akwesasne, Kanesatake, Tyendinaga, Six Nations, Wahta and Oneida of the Thames.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500 joe.delaronde@mck.ca