

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Community Honorees Luncheon to be held tomorrow

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 9, Onerahtohkó:wa/May 2013) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) is pleased to inform the community that a special Community Honorees Luncheon will be held tomorrow (Friday) to pay tribute to sixteen (16) Kahnawa'kehró:non who have been awarded the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medals in recent months.

The Medals are awarded for "honorable service in military, police, prison and emergency forces, and for outstanding achievement in public service."

Charlotte Bush-Provencher, Myrtle Bush-Diabo, Ray Deer, John McComber, Joe McGregor and Dorris Montour, as well as the late Josephine Skye-Horne, received the Medal last month.

The remaining honorees, including Andrew Delisle, Sr., Michael Delisle, Jr., Donald Gilbert, Arnold Lazare, Kenneth McComber, Eugene Montour, John Rice, David Scott and Dwaine White, received their Medals earlier.

All sixteen of the recipients and their families have been invited to attend the event, which will be held at the Peacekeepers Station Community Room at 12:30pm.

"I only wish we were able to invite the entire community, as we really appreciate the contributions of these – and other – people who go 'above and beyond' in working for Kahnawà:ke," said Chief Christine Zachary-Deom, who is the main organizer for today's event. "As I've said in the past, we shouldn't be afraid to express our appreciation for the people who really make Kahnawà:ke a better place to live."

Unfortunately, due to limited resources, the event is not open to the public.

-30-

For information, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500, joe.delaronde@mck.ca