

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Iroquois Caucus meeting in Ottawa, three MCK chiefs to attend

(Kahnawake – 15, Onerahtohkó:wa/May 2012) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke announced today that Chiefs Mike Bush, Martin Leborgne and Clinton Phillips will be attending the Iroquois Caucus meetings being held in Ottawa today (Tuesday) through Thursday.

Agenda items include Canada's *Matrimonial Real Interests* legislation; Homeland Security Card; Tobacco; Nation building; and the Residential School independent assessment process.

The Iroquois Caucus includes elected Councils from Kahnawà:ke, Akwesasne, Kanesatake, Tyendinaga, Wahta, Six Nations and the Oneida of the Thames (Ontario).

The chiefs are expected to return to the office on Friday, 18 Onerahtohkó:wa/May.

-30-

For information about this release, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500 ext. 2254 or joe.delaronde@mck.ca