

Office of the Electoral Officer

2009 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà: ke Elections

P.O. Box 720 (Former Ross Residence) Kahnawà:ke JOL 180 Phone: (450) 638-2931 Cellular: (514) 824-1997 E-mail: lindsay.leborgne@mck.ca

NEWS RELEASE

30, Onerahtohkó:wa/May 2009

Nominations for Grand Chief and Council Chief were collected today by Electoral Officer Lindsay LeBorgne at the MCK Social Development Unit between 10am and 12pm.

The unofficial nomination list was distributed shortly after 12pm by Assistant Electoral Officer Arlene Jacobs. Three community members were nominated for the position of Grand Chief; thirty-one community members were nominated for the 11 positions open for Council Chief.

"The nominations went very well, very smooth," said LeBorgne. "For being my first time, it went a lot smoother then I expected it to go, so I'm quite happy with the results."

All the unofficial nominees' names will run through a vigorous background check by the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, The Court of Kahnawake and the Membership Department. The deadline for all nominated to submit their documentation is on Tuesday, June 2nd at noon.

The official nomination list will be released within seven days of nomination day, but LeBorgne expects that it should be ready by Wednesday, June 3rd, 2009.

UNOFFICIAL NOTICE OF THE NOMINEES

NOMINEES FOR THE POSITION OF GRAND CHIEF:

	NAME:	NOMINATED BY:	SECONDED BY
1.	Mike Delisle Jr.	Franklin Williams	Myrtle Bush
2.	Keith Myiow	Thomas Albany	Russell Diabo
3.	Warren Lahache	John E. Lahache	Josie Lahache

NOMINEES FOR THE POSTION OF COUNCIL CHIEF:

	NAME:	NOMINATED BY:	SECONDED BY
1.	Wilbert Standup Jr.	Martin Leborgne	Lanny Standup

		1	1
2.	Mike Bush	Marsha Delisle	Franklin Williams
3.	Gina Deer	Blue Sky	Arnold Deer
4.	Tiorahkwathe Gilbert	Donald W. Gilbert	Selma Phillips
5.	Billy Two Rivers	Gene Taylor	Tommy Taylor
6.	John Martin Montour	Eric Montour	Ricky Dailleboust
7.	Kaniatari:io Gilbert	Chris Leclaire	Wenetiio Diabo
8.	Peggy Mayo Standup	Christine Zachary Deom	Barbara Taylor
9.	Warren Lahache	Rachel M. Diabo Rice	Floyd Lahache
10.	Kenneth McComber	Marilyn Simpson	Nadine Montour
11.	Akwiratekha Martin	D.P. Martin	Jeffrey Diabo
12.	Kahsennenhawe Sky-	Rheena Skye Diabo	Donald W. Gilbert
	Deere		
13.	Travis Jacobs	Joseph Jacobs	Krystal Onawa Jacobs
14.	Clinton Phillips	Kenneth Phillips	Kenny Phillips
15.	Martin Leborgne	Jamie Diabo Ranch	Bryant Louis Leborgne
16.	Jeffrey Diabo	Dennis R. Leborgne	Wilbert Standup Jr.
17.	Lloyd Phillips	Anne Marie Phillips	Arnold Boyer
		Boyer	
18.	Dennis R. Leborgne	John Montour	Marilyn Simpson
19.	Kenny Phillips	Miles Deer	Carl Zacharie
20.	Joanne Sky	Arnold Lazare	Peter Marquis
21.	Rhonda Lynn Kirby	MaryLee Armstrong	Martin Horn
22.	Dave Canadian	Kenneth Kane	Frank Rice
23.	Daniel Montour	Matthew Montour	Mark Montour
24.	Martin Morris	Terry Stacey	Sheila Horne
25	Marvin Zacharie	Brian Goodleaf	Warren White
26.	Frank "Fafa" McComber	Martin Morris	John Dee Delormier
27.	George Montour	Wahsontiio Montour	Ian Phillips
28.	John Dee Delormier	Kyle Zachary	Eugene Diabo Jr.
29.	Carl Horn	Joe Horn	Virginia Standup
	Wahiake:ron George	Tiorahkwathe Gilbert	Marina Mayo
30.	Gilbert		
31.	Stuart (Jr.) Phillips	Greg Horn	Don Patrick Martin