

# Office of the Electoral Officer

#### 2012 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections

P.O. Box 1712 Kahnawà:ke JOL 1Bo Phone: (450) 635-3041 Cellular: (514) 213-0063 E-mail: timmy.norton@paulcomm.ca

# **NEWS RELEASE**

## **Unofficial Notice of the Nominees**

#### For immediate release

**(Kahnawake – 2 Ohiarí:ha / June 2012)** Nominations for Grand Chief and Council Chief were collected today by Electoral Officer Timmy Norton at the MCK Social Development Unit between 10am and 12pm.

The unofficial nomination list was distributed shortly after 12pm by Electoral Officer Timmy Norton. Four community members were nominated for the position of Grand Chief; twenty three community members were nominated for the 11 positions open for Council Chief.

All the unofficial nominees' names will run through a vigorous background check by the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, The Court of Kahnawake and the Membership Department.

The deadline for all nominated to submit their documentation is on Tuesday, June 5<sup>th</sup>, at noon.

The official nomination list will be released within seven days of nomination day, but Norton expects that it should be ready by Wednesday, June 6<sup>th</sup>, 2012.

### UNOFFICIAL NOTICE OF THE NOMINEES

### NOMINEES FOR THE POSITION OF GRAND CHIEF:

	NAME	NOMINATED BY	SECONDED BY
1.	Mike Delisle Jr.	Wayne Delormier	Joann Patton
2.	Peter Paul	Alan Paul	Tyler Diabo
3.	Barry Alfred	Timmy Jay Montour	Jerron Jay Montour
4.	Keith Myiow	Russell Diabo	Kyle Diabo

#### NOMINEES FOR THE POSTION OF COUNCIL CHIEF:

	NAME	NOMINATED BY	SECONDED BY
1.	Robert Patton Jr.	Janice Patton	Burgess Diabo
2.	Michael Stalk Jr.	Lorna Delaronde	Ronald Shawn Kirby
3.	Mike Bush	Leatrice Leborgne	Tracey Leborgne

4.	Vernon Goodleaf	Jessica Deer	Amanda-Lee Phillips
5.	Peggy Mayo Standup	Floyd Lahache	Christopher Beauvais
6.	Christine Zachary Deom	Brian Goodleaf	Louis Horn
7.	Martin Leborgne Sr.	Martin Leborgne Jr.	Bryant Leborgne
8.	Gina Deer	Jean Guimond	Blue Sky
9.	Gary A. Beauvais	Billy Two Rivers	Janice Beauvais
10.	Kenneth J. McComber	Eugene L. Montour	Petal McComber
11.	Rhonda Lynn Kirby	Martin Horn	Marylee Armstrong
12.	Kahs Sky Deer	Rheena Diabo	Angus Skye
13.	William Joseph Diabo	Greg Horn	Mike Stacey
14.	Lloyd Phillips	Stuart Phillips	Alice Montour Phillips
15.	Peter Paul	Darren J. Diabo	Gregory Diabo
16.	Jeffrey M. Diabo	Ricky Dailleboust	David A. Diabo
17.	Carl Horn	Joe Horn	Virginia Standup
18.	Keith Myiow	Donald Peterson	Timmy Jay Montour
19.	Linda April Diabo	Thea Phillips	Martin Horn
20.	Clinton Phillips	Kenneth Phillips	Kenny Phillips
21.	Keith White Jr.	Shyann White	Keith White Sr.
22.	Barry Alfred	Paul Deer	Arthur P. Rice
23.	Kyle Diabo	Keith Myiow	Russell Diabo

-30-

For further information, please contact: Timmy Norton, Electoral Officer 2012 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections Cellular: 514-213-0063 - Tel: 450-635-3041