# Office of the Electoral Offi

#### 2015 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections

P.O. Box 1141 Kahnawà:ke JOL 1Bo Cellular: 514-949-7655 E-mail: Dwaynekirby@paulcomm.ca

## **NEWS RELEASE**

## **Election Day Results**

### For immediate release

(Kahnawake - 22 Ohiarí:ha/ June 2015) The following are the results of the 2015 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections held on - Saturday, 20 Ohiarí:ha/June:

Joseph Tokwiroh Norton was elected Grand Chief with 488 votes. Mike Delisle Jr., received 397 votes, Lloyd Phillips, received 356 votes and Keith Myiow, received 85 votes.

Those elected as Council Chiefs, and their vote totals, are as follows:

- 1. Kahsennehawe Sky-Deer (728)
- Carl Horn (690)
  Clinton Phillips (673)
- 4. Kenneth McComber (667)
- 5. Gina Deer (585)
- 6. Martin Leborgne (571)
- 7. Robert Patton Jr. (571)
- 8. Christine Zachary-Deom (556)
- 9. William (Billy) Diabo (548)
- 10. Arlene Jacobs (539)
- 11. Rhonda Kirby (511)

The unsuccessful candidates are as follows, with their vote totals in brackets: Ross K. Montour (434), Jeffery Diabo (394), Jonn Mayo (345), Gary A. Beauvais (274), Darlene Alfred (271), Kyle Diabo (238), Dawn Melissa Montour (234), John K. Diabo (229).

The new Council Chiefs began their first day of work to their three year term on Monday, June 22nd with a full schedule of orientation activities.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Dwayne Kirby, Electoral Officer 2015 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections Cellular: 514-949-7655