

Office of the Electoral Officer

2012 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections

P.O. Box 1712 Kahnawà:ke JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 635-3041 Cellular: (514) 213-0063 E-mail: timmy.norton@paulcomm.ca

NEWS RELEASE

Election Day Results July 8th

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 8, Ohiarihkó:wa/July 2012) Official 2012 MCK Election results The following are the results of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections held today - Saturday, 7 Ohiarihkó:wa/July.

Grand Chief Michael Ahríhron Delisle, Jr. was re-elected with 754 votes. His challenger, Barry Alfred, received 612 votes.

Those elected as Council Chiefs, and their vote totals, are as follows:

- 1.Christine Zachary- Deom (816)
- 2.Kenneth McComber (805)
- 3.Carl Horn (752)
- 4.Lloyd Phillips (719)
- 5. Clinton Phillips (709)
- 6.Martin Leborgne (668)
- 7.Billy Diabo (648)
- 8.Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer (577)
- 9.Rhonda Kirby (554)
- 10.Bobby Patton (526)
- 11.Gina Deer (509)

The unsuccessful candidates are as follows, with their vote totals in brackets: Peter Paul (472), Mike Bush (460), Peggy Mayo-Standup (436), Jeffrey Diabo (413), Gary Beauvais (325), Kyle Diabo (257), Vernon Goodleaf (235), Keith White (203).

The new Council Chiefs begin their three-year term on Tuesday, July 10th with a full schedule of orientation activities. The first official Council meeting is scheduled for early August.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Timmy Norton, Electoral Officer

2012 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections Telephone: 450-635-3041, Cellular: 514-213-0063