

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958 Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

## Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

## **MCK Announces Portfolios**

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 24 Seskéha/August 2009) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke wishes to inform the community that Chief & Council have discussed and confirmed portfolio assignments for the 2009-2012 Council term (see attached documents).

"There are a great many challenges that continue to face not only the MCK, but all of Kahnawà:ke," said Grand Chief Michael Ahríhrhon Delisle, Jr. "Now that the portfolios have been assigned, we can begin the work to meet these challenges."

At this time, there is still one vacant seat at the Council table. A by-election will be held on Wednesday, 9 Seskehkó:wa/September to fill the vacancy. Afterward, there will be some adjustments to the portfolio assignments, as Chief & Council have acknowledged the need for inclusion of the newest member of the table.

Also, please note that more detail or specific information may be forthcoming regarding certain portfolios.

The portfolio list is also available by accessing www.kahnawake.com/portfolios.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500 joe.delaronde@mck.ca

EDO-COMM-0001

## MOHAWK COUNCIL OF KAHNAWÀ:KE <u>PORTFOLIO & COMMITTEE REPRESENTATION 2009-2012 TERM</u>

FINANCE, ADMINISTRATION & OPERATIONS	COMMUNITY PROTECTION	HEALTH	ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT	SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT	EDUCATION	LANDS	LANGUAGE & CULTURE
Finance	Community	Kateri Memorial	Chiefs John D Delormier	Housing	Education General	Land Management	Kanienkehaka
Chief Johnny Montour	Protection -	Hospital Board	& Lloyd Phillips	Chief Martin Leborgne	Chiefs Kenneth	Chiefs John D Delormier	Onkwawenna
A 1 • •	General	Chief Rhonda Kirby	T	C 1 1 1	McComber, Mike Bush	& Carl Horn	Raotitiohkwa Cultural
Administration	Chiefs Martin	<b></b> 1	Tewatohnhi'sáktha	Social Assistance	& Kahsennenhawe Sky	<b>D</b>	Center Board
Chief Peggy Mayo-Standup	Leborgne & Lloyd	Kahnawake	Board	Chief Peggy Mayo	Deer	Environment	Chief Kahsennenhawe
	Phillips	Shakotiia'takénhas	Chiefs John D Delormier	Standup	Education Center	Chiefs Martin Leborgne	Sky Deer
<b>Operations</b>		Community Services	& Lloyd Phillips	March and b	Board	& Carl Horn	
Chief Rhonda Kirby	Safety Committee Chief Martin	Board Chief Dhan de Vinher		<b>Membership</b> Chief Rhonda Kirby	Chief Kenneth	Land Allotment	
Alternate	Leborgne	Chief Rhonda Kirby		Chief Khohda Kirby	McComber	Chiefs John D Delormier	
Chief Mike Bush	Leborghe	Onkwata'karitáhtshera		M.S.I	McComber	& Carl Horn	
Chief Wike Bush	Emergency	Chief Peggy Mayo-		Chief Rhonda Kirby	Step by Step Board	a carritorn	
	Preparedness	Standup		emer falonaa falog	Chiefs Rhonda Kirby &	Tioweroton	
	Committee	Standap			Kahsennenhawe Sky	Chiefs Martin Leborgne	
	Chief Lloyd Phillips				Deer	and Carl Horn	
	enner 200 ju i minipe						
						<b>Quarry</b> Chiefs John D Delormier & Carl Horn (Mike Delisle when required)	

INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS	SSSL	SPECIFIC CLAIMS	COMMUNITY DECISION MAKING PROCESS	THIRD PARTY RELATIONS	COMMISSIONS & BOARDS	SPORTS & RECREATIO N	YOUTH	LABOUR
Quebec/Kahnawá:ke Relations	Grand Chief Mike	Hydro/Seaway/	Chief	Hydro	Justice Commission	Sports &	(Youth	MOLD
Lead - Chief Johnny Montour	Delisle, Lead Negotiator	Kanawaki Leases/ Railways/Mercier	Kahsennenhawe Sky Deer	Chiefs Johnny Montour & Kenneth	Chiefs Mike Bush & Kahsennenhawe Sky	Recreation General	Forum/General issues)	M.S.I / Fairwage Agreement /
AFN & AFNQL	Chief Lloyd Phillips	Bridge		McComber	Deer	Chiefs Rhonda	,	JCCBI etc
Chief Lloyd Phillips	Chief Martin Leborgne		Chief Peggy Mayo Standup	Community Issues Chief Martin	Gaming Commission	Kirby, Carl Horn	Chief	Lead – Chief
Iroquois Caucus & Border	Chief Martin Leborghe	Chief Lloyd Phillips	Standup	Leborgne	Chiefs John D	α Kahsennenhawe	Kahsennenhawe Sky Deer	Rhonda Kirby
Crossing	Chief Peggy Mayo		Chief Mike Bush		Delormier & Peggy	Sky Deer		Mercier Bridge
Chiefs Martin Leborgne Chief Mike Bush	Standup	Chief John D Delormier		Tele- Communications:	Mayo Standup	Athletic	Chief John Dee Delormier	Worker Issues Chief Martin
Chief Mike Bush	Chief Kahsennenhawe	Deformer		Bell, Videotron,	Peacekeeper Services	Commission	Deformer	Leborgne
Municipal Relations	Sky Deer	Chief Carl Horn		Rogers, Telus and	Board	Chiefs Rhonda		0
Chief John D Delormier	Chief Mike Bush	Chief		Paul's Communications	Chiefs Carl Horn & Lloyd Phillips	Kirby & Carl Horn		
Transport		Kahsennenhawe Sky		Chief John D		non		
Chief Rhonda Kirby	Chief Johnny Montour	Deer		Delormier	Alcohol, Beverages Control Board	Kahnawá:ke Youth Center		
Tobacco Working Group				Kanawaki	Chief Peggy Mayo-	Board		
Chief Rhonda Kirby				Chief Carl Horn	Standup	Chiefs Rhonda		
Chief Peggy Mayo Standup				Seaway		Kirby & Kahsennenhawe		
Canada/Kahnawá:ke Relations				Chief Johnny		Sky-Deer		
Lead –Chief Lloyd Phillips Chief Martin Leborgne				Montour Chief Martin				
Chief Mike Bush				Leborgne				
				<b>Railways</b> Chiefs Johnny				
				Montour & Čarl				
				Horn				

			INDIV	IDUAL LIST	<b>TING OF CH</b>	IEFS PORT	FOLIOS			
Grand Chief Michael Ahríhrhon Delisle Jr.	Chief Lloyd Phillips	Chief Michael Karonhí:io Bush	Chief Johnny Montour	Chief John Dee Delormier	Chief Kenneth Karonhiatie McComber	Chief Martin Thawen:rate Leborgne	Chief Kahsennenhawe Sky Deer	Chief Carl Horn	Chief Peggy Kawinéhtha Mayo-Standup	Chief Rhonda Kirby
Jr. QKR/CKR Quarry File – As needed SSSL – Lead Negotiator	Community Protection General Emergency Preparedness Committee Economic Development Tewatohnhi'sákth a Board AFN & AFNQL SSSL Specific Claims Peacekeeper Services Board	FAO Alternate Education Iroquois Caucus & Border Crossing CKR SSSL Community Decision Making Process Justice Commission	FAO – Finance QKR –Lead SSSL Third Party Relations	Economic Development Third Party Relations – Tele Communications Gaming Commission Youth Portfolio Lands: Land Management Land Allotment Quarry	Education General Education Center Board Third Party Relations – Hydro	Community Protection General Safety Committee SDU – Housing Environment Tioweroton Iroquois Caucus & Border Crossing CKR SSSL Third Party Relations – Hydro Community Issues	Education General Step by Step Board KOR Board SSSL Specific Claims Community Decision Making Process Justice Commission Sports & Recreation General KYC Board	Specific ClaimsThird Party Relations – Railways & KanawakiSports & Recreation GeneralAthletics CommissionLands: EnvironmentLand AllotmentLand ManagementQuarry	FAO – Administration Onkwata'karitáhts hera SDU – Social Assistance SSSL Tobacco Working Group Community Decision Making Process ABC Board	FAO – Operations Kahnawake Shakotiia'takénha s Community Services Board KMHC Board SDU – Membership & MSI Transport Sports & Recreation General Athletic Commission Labour
						Labour – Mercier Bridge Worker Issues	Youth Portfolio			