

Office of the Electoral Officer

2009 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà: ke By-Elections

P.O. Box 720 (Former Ross Residence) Kahnawà:ke JOL 180 E-mail: Lindsay.leborgne@mck.ca Phone: (450) 638-2931

NEWS RELEASE

Unofficial Nominees Announced for 2009 MCK By-Election

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 26, Seskéha / August 2009) Nominations for Council Chief in the 2009 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke By-Election were received today by Electoral Officer Lindsay LeBorgne at the MCK Social Development Unit between 10am and 12pm.

The unofficial nomination list was distributed shortly after nominations closed by Assistant Electoral Officer Arlene Jacobs. A total of thirteen community members were nominated for the one vacant position of Council Chief.

"Nominations went smoothly," said LeBorgne. "Considering it's the second nominations in a short period, I expected it to go over quite well, and it did."

All the unofficial nominees' names will be run through background checks by the Kahnawà:ke Peacekeepers, the Court of Kahnawà:ke and the Membership Department. The deadline for all nominees to submit their documentation is on Saturday, August 29th at noon. Please note that candidates also have the right to decline their nominations.

Leborgne must announce the official nomination list within seven days of Nomination Day (Wednesday, September 2nd).

The unofficial Nominees for the position of Council Chief are:

Andrew Tioteroken Delisle Jr.

Nominated By: Andrew T. Delisle Sr.

Seconded By: Jeffrey Diabo

Darlene Alfred

Nominated By: Leatrice McComber Leborgne

Seconded By: Betty-Jo Leborgne

Tammy Beauvais

Nominated By: Nadine E. Montour Seconded By: Peter J. Stacey

Continued on page 2

Gina Deer

Nominated By: Molly Sky Seconded By: Curtis Diabo

Travis Jacobs

Nominated By: Ronald Boyer Sr. Seconded By: Joseph Jacobs

Michelle Jacobs

Nominated By: Shawn C. Montour

Seconded By: Tom Phillips

Wilbert Standup Jr.

Nominated By: Martin Leborgne Seconded By: Evan Standup

Floyd Lahache

Nominated By: Warren Lahache Seconded By: Christopher Beauvais

David Canadian

Nominated By: Kenneth Kane Seconded By: Frank Rice

Martin Horn

Nominated By: Rhonda Kirby Seconded By: Angel Horn

Tiorahkwathe Gilbert

Nominated By: Timmy Luke Montour Seconded By: Randolph Peterson

Clinton Phillips

Nominated By: Kenneth Phillips Seconded By: Kenny Phillips

Kaniehtake:ron Gilbert

Nominated By: Wahsontiio Montour

Seconded By: Lisa White

-30-

For further information, please contact: Lindsay Leborgne, Electoral Officer 2009 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections Tel: 450-638-2931 Cellular: 514-942-7555