

Office of the Electoral Officer

2009 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke By-Elections

P.O. Box 720 (Former Ross Residence) Kahnawà:ke JOL 180 E-mail: Lindsay.leborgne@mck.ca Phone: (450) 638-2931

NEWS RELEASE

Official Candidates Announced for 2009 MCK By-Elections

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 31, Seskéha / August 2009) The Office of the Electoral Officer is pleased to announce the official nominees for the 2009 MCK By-Elections. They are as follows:

- 1. Darlene Alfred
- 2. Tammy Beauvais
- 3. David Canadian
- 4. Gina Deer
- 5. Andrew Tioteroken Delisle Jr.
- 6. Travis Jacobs

- 7. Tiorahkwathe Gilbert
- 8. Martin Horn
- 9. Floyd Lahache
- **10. Clinton Phillips**
- 11. Wilbert Standup Jr.

The Electoral Officer hereby declares that all above nominees have officially accepted their nomination and have all met the eligibility requirements as set out in the *Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke Election Law*.

Nominees Michelle Jacobs and Kaniehtake:ron Gilbert have both officially declined their nomination to run in the 2009 MCK By-Elections.

The By-Election will be held at the Kahnawake Youth Center on September 9th, from 9am to 6pm. The By-Election will not host a Candidates Night or a Special Advanced Poll. However, the Partyline Talkshow on K103 Radio (from 12pm – 1pm) will host participating candidates wishing to speak about their platforms on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday of this week.

For more information, please contact the Electoral Officer, Lindsay LeBorgne at (450) 638-2931 or (514) 824-1997 or visit www.kahnawake.com/elections .

-30-

For further information, please contact: Lindsay Leborgne, Electoral Officer 2009 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections Tel: 450-638-2931 Cellular: 514-942-7555