

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Chiefs to attend Iroquois Caucus in Akwesasne, agenda announced

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 4, Seskehkó:wa/September 2013) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke would like to inform the community that several chiefs will be attending the Iroquois Caucus meetings being held in Akwesasne on Thursday and Friday, 5 and 6 Seskehkó:wa/September.

As per usual practice, Martin Leborgne, Billy Diabo and Bob Patton will be attending as portfolio chiefs. Since the Caucus is being held in Akwesasne several other chiefs have indicated that they will attend some or all of the meetings, including Gina Deer, Christine Zachary-Deom, Kenneth McComber, Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer and Grand Chief Michael Ahríhron Delisle, Jr.

Agenda items include the proposed Memorandum of Understanding regarding Free Trade; Iroquois Caucus Consultation Policy; Education; Health; Tobacco; United Nations Rapporteurs; and other various updates, discussions and presentations.

The Iroquois Caucus is comprised of representatives of elected councils from Akwesasne, Kahnawà:ke, Kanesatake, Six Nations, Tyendinaga, Wahta, and the Oneida of the Thames.

-30-

For information about this release, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke 450-632-7500, joe.delaronde@mck.ca