

Office of the Electoral Officer

for the 2019 Mohawk Council of Kahnawa:ke By-Election

P.O. Box 244 Kahnawà:ke J0L1B0 Cellular: (514) 442-9114 E-mail: angus.montour@kahnawakeelections.com

NEWS RELEASE

Official Candidates List for MCK By-Election

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 9, Kenténha/October 2019) Electoral Officer Angus L. Montour announced the Official Candidates List this afternoon for the October 19th MCK By-Election via Facebook Live on the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake page. Five (5) community members will run for one position as Elected Council Chief on the Mohawk Council of Kahnawa:ke. They are listed below in alphabetical order.

	NAME	NOMINATED BY:	SECONDED BY:
1	Angie Whitebean BRASCOUP	Kevin McComber	Teiawentathe Etienne-Jacobs
2	Cody DIABO	Nathan White	Rebecca Kirstie Diabo
3	Keith McGREGOR	Cheryl Montour	Kirstin Montour
4	Robert Bobby PATTON Jr.	Amy-Leigh Patton	Leatrice Leborgne
5	Tonia WILLIAMS	Sandra McComber	Donna Stacey

All Nominees were vetted through a vigorous background check conducted by the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, the Court of Kahnawà:ke, and the Office of the Kanien'kehá:ka of Kahnawà:ke Registry and they have accepted their nominations and were deemed by the Electoral Officer to have met all eligibility criteria as per the Kahnawà:ke Election Law.

Some important dates to remember:

- The MCK By-Election takes place on Saturday, October 19, 2019, from 9am to 3pm at the Karonhianónhnha School Gymnasium
- An Advanced Poll for those registered takes place on Saturday, October 12, 2019 at the Golden Age Club
- Meet the Candidates Night takes place tonight (Wednesday, October 9) at the Golden Age Club

The official list of the candidates can also be found online at www.kahnawakeelections.com.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Angus L. Montour, Electoral Officer

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke By-Election

Cellular: 514-442-9114

Email: angus.montour@kahnawakeelections.com