Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

P.O. Box 720 Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.Kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Chiefs to attend Iroquois Caucus

For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 19, Kenténha/October 2010) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke announced that three Council chiefs will attend the Iroquois Caucus meetings taking place in Wahta on Wednesday and Thursday, 20-21 Kenténha/October. Chiefs Martin Leborgne, Kenneth McComber and Johnny Montour will participate.

The majority of the agenda will consist of strategic planning.

The Iroquois Caucus was formed by elected Councils of Kahnawà:ke, Akwesasne, Kanesatake, Tyendinaga, Wahta, Six Nations and Oneida of the Thames (Ontario) as a forum to discuss, debate and, hopefully, resolve issues that were not being addressed through the Assembly of First Nations.

The first meeting was held in Tyendinaga in January 2005.

-30-

For information about this release, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché 450 632 7500 ext. 2251, joe.delaronde@mck.ca