

### Tsi Nahò:ten Karihwanákere Nó:nen'k

## **PRESS RELEASE**

### Media Inquiries: Joe Delaronde

Political Press Attaché 450- 632-7500 ext 63251 joe.delaronde@mck.ca

# Technical Contact: Lloyd Phillips

Commissioner of Public Safety <a href="mailto:lloyd.phillips@mck.ca">lloyd.phillips@mck.ca</a>

### Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory P.O. Box 720 JOL 1B0

**Tel:** (450) 632-7500 **Fax:** (450) 638-5958

As per the MCK Communications Protocol, all media requests must be arranged through the Public Relations / Communications Unit

### More enforcement authority for Public Safety

#### For Immediate Release

(Kahnawake – 5, Tsothóhrha/December 2019) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) wishes to advise the community that it has passed two Mohawk Council Executive Directives ("Directives") that will allow for the creation of an Enforcement Management System for the Public Safety Commission.

The Directives were passed at this Monday's duly-convened Council meeting. The first was an amendment to the Mandate of the Public Safety Commission to empower/recognize current inspectors and officers to enforce standards attached to relevant laws and regulations, as well as implement and oversee global public safety projects and initiatives.

The second was passed to approve the Enforcement Management System itself, which is needed in order for Fire, Safety & Health, Animal Protection, and other authorized inspectors and officers to properly enforce Public Safety laws.

Both Directives were passed by Consensus.

"This is a major development for Public Safety within the community," said Commissioner of Public Safety Lloyd Phillips. "The development of better coordination and standards will allow for improved professional services and consistency that the community expects. This has been in discussion for a long time, so we are very pleased to see the passage of these Directives. It gives us an excellent framework to continue to improve our services."

The Public Safety Commission was created in 2018 and consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Kahnawà:ke Fire Brigade's Fire Chief, the Chief Peacekeeper, the Executive Director of Kahnawà:ke Shakotiia'takéhnhas Community Services, the Director of the Kahnawà:ke Labor Office, and the Director of MCK Public Works.