P.O. Box 720 Kahnawake Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca

Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Council of Elders Chosen

For immediate release

(17 Oneratohkó:wa May, 2004) On Saturday May 15 approximately 50 community members attended the special Community Meeting for the selection of the Council of Elders and the Membership Review Board for the Kahnawake Law on membership.

There were originally 21 candidates however Ida Goodleaf withdrew her name at the meeting citing health reasons and Burgess and Arlene Diabo withdrew in a letter to the Registrar before the meeting took place.

As well the 18 members will decide amongst themselves who will eventually sit on the 3 person Review Board.

The process to select the candidates went as followed: Each potential candidate was presented to the community, each was asked to say a few words and comments or objections were taken from the community, all were accepted.

The members of the Council of Elders and the Review Board are:

Wendy Two-Axe Mayo Chris Leclaire

Marina Mayo
Sandra McComber Rhonda Kirby
(George) Wahiakeron Gilbert Ramona Decaire

Juanita DelisleCecilia Phillips CanadianTawnie Miller BushRita Jacobs GoodleafKahn-Tineta HornPaul G.Deer

Josie Lahache Lynn Delisle
David Atewenná:ron Dearhouse Matthew R. (Watio) Montour

T 1D 1

Leonard Bordeau

The Council of elders are expected to begin to look at applicants by July.



P.O. Box 720 Kahnawake Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca

Enhsakotò: kénhte Nitiotié: ren Tsi Jetsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Timmy Norton, Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren, Tsi lehiatonhkhwa ne Ratítsénhaíens, Kahnawá:ke Tsi letsenhaientahkhwa (450) 632-7500 ext. 254, 514-239-7802