Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke P.O. Box 720 Kahnawá:ke Mohawk Territory IOL 1B0

O. Box 720 Kahnawá:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 180 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca

Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Election Results Announced

For immediate release

(Kahnawá:ke – 4, Ohiari'kó:wa/July 2006) The following are the results of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke Elections held on Saturday, 1 Ohiari'kó:wa/July.

Grand Chief Michael Ahríhron Delisle, Jr. was re-elected with 897 votes. His challenger, Dan Kirby, received 233 votes.

Those elected as Council Chiefs, and their vote totals, are as follows:

1.	Martin Leborgne	627
2.	Johnny Montour	610
3.	Warren Lahache	596
4.	Mike Bush	514
5.	Rhonda Lynn Kirby	508
6.	John Dee Delormier	496
7.	Kenneth McComber	467
8.	Marvin Zacharie	437
9.	Peter Paul	427
10.	Peggy Mayo Standup	407
11.	Keith Myiow	383

The unsuccessful candidates are as follows, with their vote totals in brackets: Arlene Jacobs (365), Michael Loft (356), George Montour (341), Dennis Leborgne and Watio Montour (338), Lindsay LeBorgne (319), Lori Jacobs (296), Trina C. Diabo (290), Daniel Montour (287), David Dearhouse (168) and Donnie D'Ailleboust (147).

The new Council Chiefs begin their three-year term today with a full schedule of orientation activities. The first official Council meeting is scheduled for early August.

-30-

For more information, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché, Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke (450) 632-7500 ext. 251