

Media Inquiries: Joe Delaronde Political Press Attaché 450- 632-7500 ext 63251 Joe.delaronde@mck.ca

Technical Contact: Winona Polson-Lahache Chief Political Advisor

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory P.O. Box 720 JOL 1B0

Tel: (450) 632-7500 **Fax:** (450) 638-5958

As per the MCK Communications Protocol, all media requests must be arranged through the Public Relations / Communications Unit Tsi Nahò:ten Karihwanákere Nó:nen'k PRESS RELEASE

MCK Welcomes New Council Table

For Immediate Release

(Kahnawake – 10, Ohiarikó:wa/July 2018) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) wishes to congratulate and welcome the new Council Table for the 2018 - 2021 term. There are six new council members, with three returning after hiatus (Mike Delisle, Lindsay Leborgne and Lloyd Phillips), and three first time members (Tonya Perron, Harry Rice and Ross Montour). The MCK would also like to congratulate returning Ratitsénhaienhs Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer, Gina Deer, Clinton Phillips, Rhonda Kirby, Carl Horn and Grand Chief Joseph Tokwiro Norton.

A tobacco burning will take place tomorrow (Wednesday, July 11) to welcome the new Council and then orientation begins, lasting for approximately two weeks. Only Ratsénhaienhs Carl Horn will be absent for tomorrow's activities.

The MCK would also like to take the opportunity to thank the outgoing councilors for their dedication and hard work while serving the community over the past years. They include three who retired (Arlene Jacobs, Christine Zachary Deom and Kenneth McComber), along with Billy Diabo, Martin Leborgne and Bobby Patton, who were not re-elected. Each served more than one term.

"We have a lot of work ahead of us, so these next few weeks will be crucial to get the new Council members up to speed," said Grand Chief Norton. "Congratulations to those who were elected, but we should also thank all of those who answered the challenge and ran in the election."

The MCK would also like to thank Electoral Officer Angus Montour for running a fair and efficient election. Only 4 ballots were spoiled thanks to Montour's emphasis on marking your ballot with an X. Not one ballot was spoiled for that reason. Another interesting statistic shows that since 2004 there have been 2585 different community members who have taken part in the last six (6) MCK elections. Only 210 people have taken part in all six (6) elections since 2004.