P.O. Box 720 Kahnawake Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: <a href="www.kahnawake.com">www.kahnawake.com</a> E-mail: <a href="communications@mck.ca">communications@mck.ca</a> Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

## Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk - News Release

## **Chiefs to Attend Iroquois Caucus**

## For immediate release

**(Kahnawá:ke – 12, Ohiari'kó:wa/July 2005)** Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke Chiefs Tiorahkwathe Gilbert, Mike Bush, Johnny Montour, Martin Leborgne and Keith Myiow will be attending the Iroquois Caucus scheduled for Wednesday and Thursday, 13-14 Ohiarikó:wa/July in Akwesasne.

Agenda items include updates by the Border Crossing Committee, Inherent Right to Self-Government Committee and the Iroquois Tobacco Regulatory Committee.

The Iroquois Caucus, which consists of various Chiefs and technicians from various Iroquoian communities, was created as a forum to discuss issues that are common to the communities. Previous meetings have been held this year in Six Nations, Tyendinaga and Oneida, Ontario.

-30-

For more information, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke (450) 632-7500 ext. 251