Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke
P.O. Box 720 Kahnawá:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0
Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Jetsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Electoral Officer nominated

For immediate release

(Kahnawá:ke – 31, Kenténha/October 2007) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke announced that it has received three nominations for the position of Electoral Officer for the upcoming by-election.

The nominees, all of whom accepted, are as follows:

- 1) Lori Jacobs. Nominated by Dwayne Kirby, seconded by Melanie Gilbert
- 2) John K. Diabo. Nominated by Kyle Diabo, seconded by Angus (Ozzie) Diabo
- 3) Carolyn Deer Nominated by John Bud Morris, seconded by Lisa Morris

As required by the *Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke Election Law*, security checks will be conducted on the individuals by the Kahnawá:ke Peacekeepers and the Court of Kahnawá:ke. The MCK's Membership Department will verify whether eligibility criteria are met.

As well, according to the *Law*, the Electoral Officer has to be officially appointed at a duly convened Community Meeting. This will be held tomorrow (Thursday, 1 Kentenhkó:wa/November) from 6 to 8pm at the Golden Age Club.

The by-election has been called to fill the seat vacated by Keith Myiow, who was removed by a vote of non-confidence of his fellow Council Chiefs.

-30-

For more information, please contact: Joe Delaronde, Political Press Attaché Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke (450) 632-7500 ext. 251