

# Office of the Electoral Officer

for the 2022 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke By-Election

P.O. Box 244 Kahnawà:ke JOL1B0 Cellular: 514-442-9114 E-mail: angus.montour@kahnawakeelections.com

# **NEWS RELEASE**

## **Unofficial Nominees List for 2022 MCK By-Election**

### For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 19, Kentenhkó:wa/November 2022) Nominations for one Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) Elected Council Chief were collected by Electoral Officer Angus L. Montour and Assistant Electoral Officer Muriel White-Rice at the Kahnawake Services Complex on Saturday, November 19, 2022 between 10am and 12 noon.

The <u>Unofficial</u> Nomination List was distributed shortly after 12pm by the Electoral Officer via Facebook live on the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake page. Two (2) community members were nominated for the one position open for Elected Council Chief.

Please note that this list is <u>UNOFFICIAL</u> until all Nominees have dutifully accepted or declined their nominations and have been deemed by the Electoral Officer to have met all eligibility criteria as per the *Kahnawà:ke Election Law*. The Official Candidate List **will be released by** Wednesday, November 23, 2022 at 12 noon.

The following <u>UNOFFICIAL</u> list of the nominees for the MCK By-Election can also be found online at <u>www.kahnawakeelections.com</u>:

#### **NOMINEES FOR THE POSITION OF ELECTED COUNCIL CHIEF** (in application order):

	NAME:	NOMINATED BY:	SECONDED BY:
1	DEERE, Bobbi Dee	LECLAIRE, Daryl	MCCOMBER, lokennoron
2	MCCOMBER, Stephen Angus	MCCOMBER, Alex	MCCOMBER, Theresa

-30-

For further information, please contact: Angus L. Montour, Electoral Officer 2022 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke By-Election

Cellular: 514-442-9114

Email: angus.montour@kahnawakeelections.com