P.O. Box 720 Kahnawá:ke Mohawk Territory JOL 1B0 Phone: (450) 632-7500 Fax: (450) 638-5958

Web Site: www.kahnawake.com E-mail: communications@mck.ca Enhsakotò:kénhte Nitiotié:ren Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa

Tsi Nahóten Karihwanákere No'nenk News Release

Kahnawá: ke Justice retires

For immediate release

(Kahnawá:ke – 19, Tsothóhrha/December 2006) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke (MCK) announced that Sam Kirby has retired as Justice of the Peace for the Court of Kahnawá:ke. His last day presiding over the Court was Friday, 15 Tsothóhrha/December.

In 1981, Justice Kirby and the already-retired Mike Diabo were the first two Justices of the Peace appointed to preside over the Court of Kahnawá:ke. His departure will leave the Court with only two remaining Justices of the Peace (Stephanie Cross and Josephine Curotte).

"On behalf of the Court, I'd like to offer sincere thanks and appreciation for the work Sam has done for these 25 years," said Director of Justice Ron Skye. "His contributions to help establish and gain recognition for the Court of Kahnawá:ke cannot be underestimated."

With the federal government's moratorium on the appointment of new Justices of the Peace, the Court of Kahnawá:ke is expecting some difficulties in maintaining its operations at the levels the community has come to expect. This is cause for concern because the development of the justice system has been identified as one of the MCK's four main priorities, not only for this term but on a long-term basis.