Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Consensus reached on Election Law amendments, working group to be formed


The Kahnawà:ke Legislative Coordinating Commission announced that consensus was reached at last evening’s Community Consultation on proposed amendments to the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake Election Law.

The scope, purpose and intent were clarified and the list of amendments finalized. A working group will be created to begin the process of drafting the amendments, which will include technicians, three community members and an alternate selected by the meeting’s participants. The community members are Matthew Stacey, Lori Jacobs and Angus L. Montour. Joanne Patton is the alternate.

The list of amendments includes criteria for candidates; chiefs’ accountability; the number of Council Chiefs; and the creation of consistency between the Election Law and the Kahnawà:ke Membership Law.

“I think we were pleasantly surprised that we reached this point in the process so quickly,” said Commission Coordinator Kahente Horn-Miller.  “Once again, though the numbers weren’t overwhelming, I was extremely impressed with the level of participation by those present. Last night’s meeting was quite successful, both in terms of consensus-building and the respectful and positive manner that people displayed.” 

The minutes and other information from last night’s meeting will be made available shortly at >b> Copies of the current law, the community consultation feedback report, and other relevant information are available on the website as well.

Download PDF Download MP3