Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Iroquois Caucus - AFN sign Protocol Agreement


The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke wishes to inform the community that the Iroquois Caucus and the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) have signed a Protocol Agreement that will foster a harmonious and cooperative relationship between the two organizations.

Chief Lloyd Phillips signed the Agreement on behalf of Kahnawà:ke at the AFN Special Assembly being held in Gatineau, Quebec. The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke is a founding member of the Iroquois Caucus.

National Chief Shawn A-in-chut Atleo signed on behalf of the AFN.

The protocol will establish information-sharing processes and develop collaborative strategies for advocacy approaches that address issues of mutual concern. It also establishes that meetings between the National Chief and the Iroquois Caucus will be held annually or semi-annually, as needed.

While each party will be responsible for their own costs, the AFN commits to continue providing the Caucus with access to AFN facilities and resource people.

“While it’s true that one of the main reasons the Iroquois Caucus was created was because we felt our concerns weren’t being addressed in the AFN, we have always said it is far better to work together,” said Chief Martin Leborgne, who has been with the Caucus since its inception. “This agreement is a great step forward.  We look forward to promoting and encouraging nation re-building with other First Nations in Canada.” 

An unofficial version of the document is attached to the PDF for information purposes.

Download PDF Download MP3