Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Two Quebec Ministers, four local mayors meet in Kahnawake on economic development


The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke wishes to advise the community that a successful meeting was held today between representatives of Kahnawà:ke, two Quebec cabinet ministers and the mayors of four surrounding communities on the topic of economic development.

“I thought today’s meeting was historic in nature,” said Economic Development Portfolio Chief Gina Deer.  “We can’t stress enough how important it was to have Native Affairs Minister Geoff Kelley, Minister Responsible for the Montérégie Pierre Moreau, and the mayors of the four closest neighboring communities all in attendance to meet and have an open dialogue. Today’s meeting was extremely positive and will help us to better understand each other and work towards creating effective working relationships.”

“There was a clear sense that, if our five communities can work together on certain projects we can bring economic development not only to our communities but to the entire region,” she concluded.

Today’s meeting, hosted by Tewatohnhi’saktha, sets the stage for more specific discussions in the near future. Mayors in attendance were Chateauguay’s Nathalie Simon, Jocelyne Bates of Ste. Catherine, Sylvain Payant of St. Isidore and St. Constant’s Jean-Claude Boyer. Intergovernmental Affairs Portfolio Chief Lloyd and Tewatohnhi’saktha’s Chief Executive Officer John Bud Morris were part of the Kahnawà:ke delegation.

Interviews conducted by KTV immediately after the meeting concluded are available by clicking here.

Download PDF