Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Chiefs to travel to Standing Rock to support protest against Dakota Access Pipeline


The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) wishes to inform Kahnawa’kehrò:non that two Chiefs will be part of a delegation of Iroquois Caucus chiefs travelling to Standing Rock, North Dakota to support the people of that community in their opposition to the Dakota Access Pipeline project.

Ratitsénhaienhs Bobby Patton and Martin Leborgne will be part of the Iroquois Caucus group who will meet with elders and leaders of the besieged community. Ratitsénhaienhs Patton and Leborgne will leave on Monday; they will travel by van and pick up other members of the Iroquois Caucus along the route. They also plan to pick up supplies before arriving at the camp. They will return to the office on Tuesday, 20 Seskehkó:wa/September.

There are plans underway for Grand Chief Norton to travel to Standing Rock at a later date.

“The proponents of the project have resorted to acting in a manner that totally disrespects the position of the people of Standing Rock,” Grand Chief Norton said. “We are hopeful that our support and that of thousands of other Indigenous and non-Indigenous people who have become involved will have a positive impact.”

The Chiefs will be joining other community members who are already at Standing Rock in solidarity with the local people.

The Iroquois Caucus consists of elected Councils of Akwesasne, Kahnawà:ke, Kanesatake, Tyendinaga, Wahta, Six Nations and the Oneida of the Thames.

Download PDF Download MP3