Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Land Use Plan Steering Committee selected


The Lands Unit of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke is pleased to announce the names of the five (5) community members selected to join a Steering Committee that will oversee the development of a Land Use Plan Framework for Kahnawà:ke and Tioweró:ton. 

The successful candidates are:

  • Tracey Snow
  • Ross K. Montour
  • Holly McComber
  • Melvin Diabo
  • Eva Johnson
“I’m very happy with these candidates because they all have relevant experience when it comes to Kahnawà:ke lands," said Land Use Planning Coordinator Cole McComber. "Their knowledge and guidance will be a strong asset to the Land Use Planning Project.”

The MCK is developing a land use plan to address various land concerns. It was once said that we do not inherit the land from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.  Ontionhóntsa, Ohén:ton Ia′tetewaká:nerak: Our Land, Their Future is the slogan for the Land Use Planning Project and will be the foundation on which the Steering Committee builds from. 

The Committee will have its first meeting on Wednesday, December 21st.

Download PDF Download MP3