Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Kahnawake Cannabis Control Board appointments


The Mohawk Council of Kahnaw�:ke (MCK) wishes to inform the community that three (3) persons have been appointed to sit as the Kahnaw�:ke Cannabis Control Board (�the Board�).

They are Louis Delisle, Tara Jacobs, and Brandon M. Montour. They were among nine (9) persons who applied as candidates. The three were selected at the duly-convened Council meeting held on June 24, 2019. There was unanimity regarding the persons selected. (Please note that Grand Chief Joseph Tokwiro Norton abstained due to close family relationships among the applicants, while Rats�nhaienhs Carl Horn agreed with the selection while restating his position opposing the sale of cannabis on the Territory.) 

The Board will administer the Kahnaw�:ke Cannabis Control Law (�the Law�) in the best interests of the Kanien�keh�:ka of Kahnaw�:ke, and in accordance with the highest principles of health, safety, security, honesty, and integrity. The Board will be responsible for drafting the Regulations related to the Law. They will regulate, monitor, and inspect all the premises and activities of license holders, as well as make any decision and take any action as is necessary to fulfill the purposes of this Law.

Download PDF Download MP3