Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Unofficial Nominees Announced for 2009 MCK By-Election


Nominations for Council Chief in the 2009 Mohawk Council of Kahnawą:ke By-Election were received today by Electoral Officer Lindsay LeBorgne at the MCK Social Development Unit between 10am and 12pm.

The unofficial nomination list was distributed shortly after nominations closed by Assistant Electoral Officer Arlene Jacobs. A total of thirteen community members were nominated for the one vacant position of Council Chief.

"Nominations went smoothly," said LeBorgne. "Considering it's the second nominations in a short period, I expected it to go over quite well, and it did."

All the unofficial nominees' names will be run through background checks by the Kahnawą:ke Peacekeepers, the Court of Kahnawą:ke and the Membership Department. The deadline for all nominees to submit their documentation is on Saturday, August 29th at noon. Please note that candidates also have the right to decline their nominations.

Leborgne must announce the official nomination list within seven days of Nomination Day (Wednesday, September 2nd).

The unofficial Nominees for the position of Council Chief are:

Andrew Tioteroken Delisle Jr.
Nominated By: Andrew T. Delisle Sr.
Seconded By: Jeffrey Diabo

Darlene Alfred
Nominated By: Leatrice McComber Leborgne
Seconded By: Betty-Jo Leborgne

Tammy Beauvais
Nominated By: Nadine E. Montour
Seconded By: Peter J. Stacey

Gina Deer
Nominated By: Molly Sky
Seconded By: Curtis Diabo

Travis Jacobs
Nominated By: Ronald Boyer Sr.
Seconded By: Joseph Jacobs

Michelle Jacobs
Nominated By: Shawn C. Montour
Seconded By: Tom Phillips

Wilbert Standup Jr.
Nominated By: Martin Leborgne
Seconded By: Evan Standup

Floyd Lahache
Nominated By: Warren Lahache
Seconded By: Christopher Beauvais

David Canadian
Nominated By: Kenneth Kane
Seconded By: Frank Rice

Martin Horn
Nominated By: Rhonda Kirby
Seconded By: Angel Horn

Tiorahkwathe Gilbert
Nominated By: Timmy Luke Montour
Seconded By: Randolph Peterson

Clinton Phillips
Nominated By: Kenneth Phillips
Seconded By: Kenny Phillips

Kaniehtake:ron Gilbert
Nominated By: Wahsontiio Montour
Seconded By: Lisa White

Download PDF Download MP3