Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

MCK to begin delivering letters on Monday


The Mohawk Council of Kahnawą:ke (MCK) wishes to inform the community that, on Monday (1, Ennķska/February) it will begin delivering letters to approximately 25 people residing in Kahnawą:ke who are not entitled to do so, directing them to vacate the Territory. The letter, to be signed by all twelve Council Chiefs, is as follows:

“There have been numerous complaints regarding individuals contravening Mohawk law by residing in the Mohawk Territory of Kahnawą:ke without a right to do so. You were identified in those complaints. As the date of the present letter, you are not listed as either a Kanien’kehį:ka of Kahnawą:ke or as a non-member resident on the Kahnawą:ke Kanien’kehį:ka Registry. As such, you have no right to reside in the Mohawk Territory of Kahnawą:ke.

Therefore, the Mohawk Council of Kahnawą:ke, along with the community of Kahnawą:ke, requires that you leave the Mohawk Territory of Kahnawą:ke within ten (10) days of receipt of the present letter. If you cannot meet this deadline, or can provide us with additional information, you must contact the Mohawk Council of Kahnawą:ke immediately to make further arrangements.

We trust you understand the seriousness of this letter and that you will govern yourself accordingly.”

“Every single Kahnawą:ke Mohawk knows the law,” said Grand Chief Michael Ahrķhrhon Delisle, Jr. “From the 1981 Moratorium, to the 1984 Mohawk Law on Membership and finally, the 2004 Kahnawą:ke Membership Law, the community has spoken on this issue – clearly and consistently. It is unfortunate that some people have chosen to disregard the community’s wishes. We have no other choice but to take this course of action.”

Download PDF Download MP3