Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Chiefs Portfolios announced


The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) wishes to inform the community of the portfolio assignments for Chief & Council for the 2012-2015 term.

The list of portfolios is attached. The MCK will reissue the list in a more ‘user friendly’ format in the near future. Also, please note that this list should not be considered as final, as there may still be adjustments made to certain portfolios.

In the past, portfolio assignments usually took place in the September following an election.

“Although the process to identify priorities and discuss and distribute the portfolios took a little longer than usual, we believe that the time spent was worthwhile and meaningful,” said Grand Chief Michael Ahríhron Delisle, Jr.  “There will continue to be developments in how we will work the political files. As well, we must better address and integrate the needs of Operations alongside the ongoing Organization Review. For example, ‘Community-Based Services’ (see portfolio list) is a concept we will forge together to ensure the community needs are met in the most integrated and efficient manner possible.”

List of Portfolios

1.    Seigneury of Sault St. Louis:
Michael Delisle, Jr. (lead), Christine Zachary-Deom

2.    Kahnawà:ke/Canada Relations: Clinton Phillips (Lands), Lloyd Phillips (Membership)

3.    Quebec/Kahnawà:ke Relations:
Michael Delisle, Jr. (lead), Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer, Lloyd Phillips; Christine Zachary-Deom (municipal relations)

4.    Economic Development/Revenue Generation: Michael Delisle, Jr., Gina Deer, Kenneth McComber, Billy Diabo, Martin Leborgne, Christine Zachary-Deom

5.    Public Security: Lloyd Phillips (lead), Gina Deer. Bobby Patton, Carl Horn (Peacekeeper Services Board)

6.    Justice Commission: Christine Zachary-Deom

7.    Kahnawà:ke Legislative Coordinating Commission: Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer, Martin Leborgne, Bobby Patton

8.    Lands: Clinton Phillips (Governance Development), Carl Horn (local issues).  Tiowero:tón: Martin Leborgne, Carl Horn, Gina Deer, Billy Diabo

9.    Health: Rhonda Kirby. Christine Zachary-Deom, Rhonda Kirby (Onkwata’karitáhtshera)

10.    Third Party Relations: Bobby Patton, Clinton Phillips, Kenneth McComber, Billy Diabo Carl Horn, Gina Deer, Christine Zachary-Deom

11.    Iroquois Caucus: Martin Leborgne, Billy Diabo, Bobby Patton, Clinton Phillips

12.    Assembly of First Nations/AFNQL: Lloyd Phillips (lead), Clinton Phillips, Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer  

13.    Education: Rhonda Kirby, Bobby Patton, Christine Zachary-Deom, Gina Deer, Billy Diabo (current MCK members of the Interim Working Group)

14.    Youth Forum: Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer, Billy Diabo. Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer (Kahnawake Youth Center)

15.    Community-Based Services: Martin Leborgne, Bobby Patton, Carl Horn, Rhonda Kirby (Social Development), Carl Horn, Billy Diabo, Rhonda Kirby (Sports & Recreation)

Boards and Commissions

16.    Shakotiia’takehnhas Community Services: Michael Delisle, Jr.

17.    Kahnawake Gaming Commission: Gina Deer

18.    Finance, Administration & Operations Committee: Rhonda Kirby, Clinton Phillips, Lloyd Phillips, Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer

19.    Kanien’kehá:ka Onkwawén:na Raotitiohkwa Cultural Center: Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer 

20.    Step By Step: Rhonda Kirby

Download PDF Download MP3