Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Mohawk Council of Kahnawake offers congratulations to seven community members


The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke is pleased to offer congratulations to seven (7) Kahnawa’kehró:non who will be awarded Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medals this Sunday, 14 Onerahtókha/April.

The medal is awarded for “honorable service in military, police, prison and emergency forces, and for outstanding achievement or public service.”

Charlotte Bush-Provencher, Myrtle Bush-Diabo, Joe McGregor, Dorris Montour, and the late Josephine Skye-Horne are being recognized for their extensive contributions to the cultural heritage of the community, in particular their encouragement and promotion of the Kanien’kéha language.

Ray Deer is being recognized for his work as a veteran and John McComber for his cultural contributions. Both are noted dancers and performers.

“It’s important to honor the life’s work of our community members,” said Chief Christine Zachary-Deom, who nominated several of the recipients and will be in attendance. “I feel we need to be more generous with our appreciation and praise for the people who have made a difference.”

The ceremonies will be held at College Regina Assumpta on Sauriol Street in Montreal and will be presided over by His Excellency Pierre Duchesne, the Lieutenant Governor of Quebec.

The MCK will hold a special luncheon on Friday, 10 Onerahtohkó:wa/May to celebrate the contributions of these community members. Details of this event will be announced shortly.

Download PDF Download MP3