Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Iroquois Caucus rejects First Nations Education Act


The Iroquois Caucus announced today that they have signed a Resolution unanimously rejecting the Harper government’s proposed First Nations Education Act.

The resolution was passed during a duly-convened two-day meeting of the Caucus, which is comprised of elected leaders from Akwesáhsne, Kahnawà:ke, Kanesatake, Oneida of the Thames, Six Nations of the Grand River, Tyendinaga and Wahta.

The Resolution states that the Iroquois Caucus member communities reject the First Nations Education Act in its entirety, including all of its components and contents, and any and all federally or provincially imposed legislation in this matter.

Additionally, the member communities demand that Canada recognize and respect the Aboriginal Right to jurisdictional control of our own education systems and meet with our communities to discuss and take steps necessary to address chronic underfunding of our education systems.

Click here to view the Resolution.

The Caucus has pledged that they will take all actions necessary to work with partners to counter the proposed legislation.

Download PDF