Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Electoral Officer Announced for By-Election


The Mohawk Council of Kahnawą:ke would like to announce that Lindsay Leborgne has officially accepted the position of Electoral Officer for the special by-election to fill the vacant Council Chief seat following the Court of Kahnawą:ke decision regarding Kaniatariio Gilbert. Leborgne has also announced Arlene Jacobs as Assistant Electoral Officer.

“While I believe I made the right decision regarding the eligibility of Kaniatariio Gilbert to run for office and am disappointed by the outcome, I stand by the Court of Kahnawą:ke’s decision, as it has sole jurisdiction on our elections “, said Leborgne. “As per the Courts recommendation I will continue to serve as Electoral Officer in the best interest of Kahnawą:ke”, he continued.

Leborgne has until August 18th to make an official call for nominations. He is expected to make that announcement this Friday, August 14th when he will likely also announce the Nomination Day and By-Election Day, as well as locations and times.

As outlined in the Court of Kahnawą:ke decision, all Kahnawa’kehró:non who meet Kahnawą:ke Election Law eligibility requirements will be permitted to run. Details on eligibility requirements can be obtained from the Electoral Officer by contacting 450 638 2931, 514 824 1997 or by email at .

Details for the various activities will be announced in a timely manner through various means, including use of the various Kahnawą:ke media.

Download PDF Download MP3